Let the games begin!

We got the call this morning that a Day 3 transfer was in our future. Sure we would have loved a Day 5, but since I have advanced maternal age at the ripe old age of 35 1/2 (HA!), the clinic’s protocol is to go with a Day 3 transfer if there aren’t five 6-cell embryos. I had four 8-cell and two that were 5-cell. So, I just missed the cut-off. Oh well. Lucky for us, we had some choice this time. We were also part of a new study that takes pictures and video of the embryos growing, and gives a recommendation as to the healthiest ones in the batch. So with some choice and some added information, we decided to return two, grade 1 embryos to their homeland. The winners were embryo A and embryo E. From here on out, they will be referred to as Arturo and Eva. My dad thinks this is a little wacky, but I figure I should start talking to the kids as they settle in for a lengthy lease.

We did have lots of conversation about how many embryos to put back in. We are fortunate to have a doctor whom we not only respect but we also trust. He suggested two so we’d hopefully have more to freeze. Why waste a good one if all three took, was his theory. I like that. We would also be prepared (if you can be) for twins. Triplets, no way.

I saw my acupuncturist directly after my visit and have been instructed to eat pineapple daily until Sunday, and chicken once a day until my pregnancy test. I spent lots of time on the couch, watched some bad tv, napped, and otherwise told Arturo and Eva to enjoy the new location.

As I think back to my last cycle and the two week wait, I have vowed to do some things differently. I know that as my blood test date approaches (7/23) I will get anxious and crazy, but I’m hopeful some changes along the way will help me cope with the uncertainty.

1. I will not google. Well, I’ll google things like yelp reviews and stupid baseball stats and funny videos, but nothing fertility related.

2. I will do my best to embrace any and all symptoms I experience. I already have some mild and wacky cramping from the high dosage of progesterone I’m on (all confirmed normal by my doc), but bloating and boob soreness and anything else will just be part of the experience and not a sign of something bad or good.

3. I will meditate for one hour each day. I made myself a playlist comprised of some really great music my yoga teachers play. I listened to it prior to retrieval and during the transfer, and it really soothed my nerves. I have a space all set out for my meditation, some embryos to focus on, and some baby dreams to have!

4. I will practice gratitude daily. In each of my yoga classes when the teacher asks us to set an intention I say the same thing: gratitude in my thoughts, gratitude from my lips, gratitude in my heart. I have said this in every class I’ve attended since joining the local studio, and gratitude is something I strongly believe in. Regardless of what life throws us all, we must be grateful for what we have. Especially during this period of uncertainty and wait, it is gratitude that will lighten my burden. I realize I sound like a complete hippie nut job, but I’m ok with that.

For my first act of gratitude, I want to thank all of the ladies who read this blog and cheer me on. As I told my husband this morning …. if I only had the women in my real life (both colleagues and friends) you would think having a baby was as easy as getting dressed. So, it was on-line and among strangers that I learned that I was not alone. This is a gift I can never thank you enough for.

More to come. Eva and Arturo say hello!

dfb

15 thoughts on “Let the games begin!

  1. Wonderful news… love and welcoming to your little embies 🙂 Sending wishes to you that they snuggle in for the long term. Love your idea of meditating daily and gratitude… I’m trying to meditate every day too – helps so much. Love and thoughts xoxo

    • I’ve found that the meditation right now just clears my thoughts. Running used to do that for me, but since I quit that a few months back, I needed something else. Meditation was a perfect substitute.

  2. Congrats on having the transfer done, love the names! it sounds like you have a plan in place, and I always thought it felt good to eat a bit more protein at this stage, but why chicken? Now I know what I’m having for lunch 🙂

    • I have no idea what’s up with the chicken. Once my acupuncturist said black chicken. This time it’s just regular chicken. Other times he suggested goat and lamb. He’s the guru in Chinatown, so I do what he tells me. Congrats to you on having some embryos to freeze! How exciting.

      • Hmm, ok, then I assume it’s an individual thing, like for what you need at the moment. Interesting anyway.

  3. Meditation, gratitude, and pineapple! I love it. Going to join you by doing the same here in CT from now until 7/23. xo

  4. Congratulations! So exciting. I’m sure Arturo and Eva are getting nice and comfy in there. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they stay put for a good long while! Love your attitude about this whole process, it’s inspiring!

Leave a Reply

